Safe Driver of the Year Award Application - Deadline March 31st



  • This contest is only open to member organizations of the National Safety Council in good standing located in the United States or Canada.
  • All data is self-reported and is subject to verification.
  • Nominees must be full-time drivers whose primary responsibility is to operate buses, trucks, passenger cars, or other motor vehicles on a regular basis in the performance of their normal duties.
  • Drivers who have been involved in a collision during the award period will be declared ineligible, unless it is ruled as a non-preventable collision.
  • Nominees MUST meet the minimum requirement of 15 consecutive years or 250,000 consecutive miles driven without a preventable collision to be considered.
  • Previous winners of the Joseph M. Kaplan Award are ineligible to be nominated again.




  • Deadline for submissions is the close of business, March 31.
  • Nominees must have been employed by the nominating Member Company for at least 1 year (12 consecutive months).
  • Nominations must be made by someone familiar with the nominee’s work history, such as a supervisor, coworker, or professional peer.
  • Nominees CANNOT nominate themselves.
  • One nomination per driver.
  • Winners will be announced June. Notifications will be sent by email to nominators.




Nominees must meet the minimum requirement of 15 consecutive years or 250,000 consecutive miles driven without a preventable collision to be considered for the Safe Driver of the Year Award and receive recognition.


  • Nominees who meet the minimum requirement will receive the Safe Driver Award of Honor and will be automatically considered for the Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award.
  • All qualifying nominees will receive a congratulatory letter and personalized certificate from the National Safety Council.
  • All drivers who qualify will be divided into 10 Regions (see map on page 2).
  • The 10 Regional Best winners will be recognized as a Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award winner.The awards are presented at the National Safety Council’s National Awards Celebration, held in conjunction with the Congress & Expo.
  • Regional Best winners will receive 2 complimentary admissions to the event. Travel and lodging fees will be the responsibility of the nominating Member Company.


Safe Driver of the Year Regions:



All provinces



All states

East North Central






East South Central

Alabama Kentucky Mississippi Tennessee

Middle Atlantic

New Jersey

New York






New Mexico Montana




New England Connecticut

Maine Massachusetts New Hampshire Rhode Island Vermont





Oregon Washington

South Atlantic Delaware Florida Georgia Maryland North Carolina South Carolina Virginia West Virginia

West North Central

Iowa Kansas Minnesota Missouri Nebraska North Dakota South Dakota

West South Central

Arkansas Louisiana Oklahoma Texas